Illustration

Sprechen wir über dasselbe?

Wie wir uns etwas vorstellen, ist ein rein subjektiver Prozess. Aussagen lösen daher viele individuelle Visionen aus, was Erwartungen schnürt, welche mühselig zu berichtigen sind. Was wäre, Sie könnten Ihrem Publikum bereits eine aussagekräftige Visualisierung aufzeigen, um vom Gleichen zu sprechen?

Etwas komplett Neues zu erlernen ist meist zu Beginn am schwierigsten. Das kommt mitunter daher, dass aufgrund fehlender thematischer Anknüpfungspunkte kein Wiedererkennen stattfinden kann. Um hier fruchtbaren Boden zu bieten, sind Visualisierungen und Illustrationen ideale Methoden, solche Anknüpfungspunkte zu generieren. Dabei regt kompetent verwendetes Bildmaterial das Denken an. Es stimuliert sowohl unsere Erinnerung als auch unser Vorstellungsvermögen. Denn visuell wahrgenommenes sind Zugänge zu bestehendem Wissen. Als Lesehilfe dienen sie der kontextuellen Orientierung, dem Verarbeiten neuer Informationen und begünstigen so den Aufbau von Know-how.

Illustrationen und Visualisierungen sind vielseitig einsetzbar. Sei es, um beispielsweise Innovationen oder komplexe Prozesse zu vermitteln oder um Probleme aufzuzeigen, um eigene Visionen, Konzepte und Erkenntnisse für andere zugänglich zu machen, um Historisches zu rekonstruieren oder Situationen zu simulieren. Eine zentrale Rolle nehmen Schlüsselbilder oder grafische Abstracts ein. Sie idealisieren und abstrahieren die Kernaussage mit der Absicht, das Verstehen des Lesenden zu unterstützen.

Illustrationen müssen nicht immer didaktischen Anforderungen gerecht werden und können auch als Stimmungsbilder für redaktionelle Zwecke ein Thema bereichern. In diesem Fall wirken sie vornehmlich emotional und sorgen für gewünschtes Aufsehen.


Medizinische und chirurgische Visualisierungen

Zwei chirurgische Methoden zur Stabilisierung von Lendenwirbelfrakturluxationen bei Katzen

Klinik für Kleintierchirurgie – Tierspital Zürich, Vetsuisse-Faculty, University of Zurich

Vector illustrations made on behalf of Dr med vet Patricia Beer – clinic for small animal surgery of Zurich.

Medizinische Illustrationen, die für eine wissenschaftliche Publikation erstellt wurden “Biomechanical comparison of ex vivo lumbar vertebral fracture luxations stabilized with tension band or polymethylmethacrylate in cats”. Erstellt während meiner Anstellung bei Vetcom.

Vitrektomie beim Auge des Hundes

Dept. of Ophthalmology at the Vetsuisse-Faculty, University of Zurich

Medizinische Illustrationen für den Ophthalmologie Beitrag von Dr. Med. Vet. Katrin Voelter zum Thema Vitrektomie beim Auge des Hundes.
Visualisierung einer Operationstechnik; erstellt für den Beitrag in den Vetsuisse-News “Blind gleich blind?” während meiner Anstellung bei Vetcom. Weblink.

Blinding Trachoma Treatment

Institute of Veterinary Pathology, University of Zurich

Pathology graphical abstract by Pascal Glatzfelder
Graphical Abstract erstellt für eine wissenschaftliche Publikation “Water-Filtered Infrared-A-Radiation (wIRA) – Novel Treatment Options for Chlamydial Infections?” während meiner Anstellung bei Vetcom. Zum Zwecke der Repräsentation an Kongressen realisierte ich zudem wissenschaftliche Poster nach CI/CD Vorgaben.

Menschliche Anatomie

Organe

Institute of Primary Health Care (BIHAM), University of Bern

Young Sonographers: 32 Visualisierungen erstellt für 13 Sonografie e-Learnings.


Entomological Illustration

Rote Waldameisen: Reduzierte grafische Darstellung von Körper und Gliedmassen.
golden digger wasp dorsal view male and female entomological illustration
Heuschrecken-Sandwespe
Unterscheidung des Geschlechts durch Darstellung der visuellen Identifikationsmerkmale. Selbst initiiert: in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Naturmuseum Solothurn.

Grafische Tierporträts

Rupicapra color low poly vector illustration
Gämse: Vektor low-poly Studie

Naturwissenschaft


Sport

Vector Illustration Formula 1 Motorsport Retro Reconstruction of Fangio
Legendäre Formel 1

Editorial

Laubbläser Karikatur
Laubbläser gelten als lärmig und umweltschädlich. Der Einsatz von Laubbläsern zerstört die natürlichen Lebensräume von Tieren und hat negative Auswirkungen auf die Gesundheit von Mensch und Tier, indem er Staub und Schmutz aufwirbelt, der mit Mikroben kontaminiert ist.
vector Fashion illustration
Die Ambivalenz der menschlichen Natur - Was ist die Süsse des Lebens?
Home > Illustration

Illustration

Are we talking about the same thing?

How we imagine something is a purely subjective process. Statements, therefore, trigger many individual visions, which laces expectations that are laborious to rectify. What if you could already show your audience a meaningful visualization to talk about the same thing?

Learning something completely new is usually most difficult at the beginning. This is sometimes due to the fact that no recognition can take place due to a lack of thematic connecting points. In order to provide fertile ground here, visualizations and illustrations are ideal methods for generating such connecting points. Competently used visuals stimulate thinking by activating both our memory and imagination. After all, visually perceived things are access points to existing knowledge. As for reading aids, they serve contextual orientation, the processing of new information, and thus promote the development of know-how.

Illustrations and visualizations are versatile. Either to communicate innovations or complex processes or to point out problems, to make own visions, concepts, and findings accessible to others, to reconstruct history or to simulate situations. Key visuals or graphical abstracts play a central role. They idealize and abstract the core message with the intention of supporting the reader’s understanding.

Illustrations do not always have to meet didactic requirements and can also enrich a topic as mood images for editorial purposes. In this case, they have a primarily emotional effect to generate the desired attention.


Medical- and Surgical Visualization

Two surgical methods to stabilize lumbar vertebral fracture luxations in cats

Klinik für Kleintierchirurgie – Tierspital Zürich, Vetsuisse-Faculty, University of Zurich

Vector illustrations made on behalf of Dr med vet Patricia Beer – clinic for small animal surgery of Zurich.

Medical illustrations created for a scientific publication “Biomechanical comparison of ex vivo lumbar vertebral fracture luxations stabilized with tension band or polymethylmethacrylate in cats”. Made during my employment at Vetcom.

Vitrectomy of the dog’s eye

Dept. of Ophthalmology at the Vetsuisse-Faculty, University of Zurich

Medizinische Illustrationen für den Ophthalmologie Beitrag von Dr. Med. Vet. Katrin Voelter zum Thema Vitrektomie beim Auge des Hundes.
Visualization of a surgical technique made for the Vetsuisse-News article “Blind gleich blind?” during my employment at Vetcom. Weblink.

Blinding Trachoma Treatment

Institute of Veterinary Pathology, University of Zurich

Pathology graphical abstract by Pascal Glatzfelder
Graphical Abstract made for a scientific publication “Water-Filtered Infrared-A-Radiation (wIRA) – Novel Treatment Options for Chlamydial Infections?” during my employment at Vetcom. For the purpose of representation at congresses, I also realized scientific posters according to CI/CD specifications.

Human Anatomy

Organs

Institute of Primary Health Care (BIHAM), University of Bern

Young Sonographers: 32 visualizations made for 13 Sonography e-Learnings.


Entomology

Red Wood Ants: Abstracted graphic representation of body and limbs.
golden digger wasp dorsal view male and female entomological illustration
Golden Digger Wasp
Differentiation of the sex by showing the visual identification features. Self-initiated: made in close collaboration with the Natural Museum of Solothurn.

Animal Portrait

Rupicapra color low poly vector illustration
Chamois: Vector-based low-poly study

Natural Science


Sport

Vector Illustration Formula 1 Motorsport Retro Reconstruction of Fangio
Legendary Formula 1

Editorial

Laubbläser Karikatur
Leaf blowers are considered noisy and harmful to the environment. The use of leaf blowers destroys the natural habitats of animals and has negative effects on human and animal health by raising dust and dirt that is contaminated with microbes.
vector Fashion illustration
The ambivalence of human nature – What’s the sweetness of Life?
Home > Illustration